Review: The Fairy Tale Detectives (The Sisters Grimm series – Book 1)

The Fairy-Tale Detectives (The Sisters Grimm, #1)The Fairy-Tale Detectives by Michael Buckley

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Sabrina and Daphne have something I wish I had but never had. A fairytale adventure!!! When I was at Daphne’s age, after I finished reading a fairytale book, I always contemplated. I always hoped there was a magical side in my modern life. I thought, if there really was any, how would I handle it? How can I keep my mouth shut? As you may know, fairytale in modern days are not for public consumption, you have to keep it as a secret forever and ever. If you tell your friends that you have a fairy friend or you’ve traveled to a castle where Snow White sleeps and Cinderella lives with her wicked mother and sisters, they might laugh at you as if you have a mental disorder. The aftermath is not so nice. Not to mention you probably will create a dangerous situation to your fairytale friends by exposing their existence to the world.

What a dreamer I am.

I can’t say it enough that I’m a fairytale die-hard fan. I’m not ashamed of it. 😀
Well, The Sisters Grimm– Fairy Tale Detectives (Book 1) is the book that fits my taste perfectly.

Sabrina and Daphne are just normal girls who live in New York City. But one day, their parents disappeared mysteriously. There’s no clue about their parent whereabouts. It changes their life forever after that. They live in an orphanage and have to deal with the rude Ms. Smirt, who has tried several times to get them out of the orphanage and into a foster home. She had sent them to live with people who usually were mean and the sisters Grimm managed to come back to the orphanage through some escapes.

This time, an old lady (Mrs. Grimm) from Ferryport Landing claims that she’s their grandmother. The girls are totally confused. They’ve been told by their parents that their grandmother has died long ago. Who is this old woman? An imposter? What does she want? Since their parent’s missing, Sabrina is in charge to protect her little sister. She’s always cautious, especially after what they’ve been through in previous foster homes.

From Mrs. Grimm or Granny Relda—that’s how Daphne called Mrs. Grimm—they learn the secret of their family. The Brothers Grimm are their great great great great grandfather and the tales they told are not just a story but it’s a history book. It’s real. The pixies, giant things, prince charming, the big bad wolf, and friends are real.

Sabrina, who in the beginning always thinks Mrs. Grimm is a lunatic, has to kick herself for being a snot. Because of her stubbornness, she puts all of them in a dangerous situation and the regret always comes late. The girls eventually believe that Mrs. Grimm is really their grandmother just after a giant abducts her.

So, will the sisters ever see their only family left again? How will the they deal with the Everafters in Ferryport Landing without the help of Granny Relda?

You won’t miss it!!

It’s really obvious this story is for children, but grown-ups who love fairytales like me will find this book as enjoyable as adult fantasy book.
View all my reviews

5 thoughts on “Review: The Fairy Tale Detectives (The Sisters Grimm series – Book 1)

  1. Hohohoho,, review lagi.
    Kadang suka bingung mau komen apa klo review buku yg belom gw baca.

    Background cerita hampir mirip sama The Last Words of Will Wolfkin yang gw baca. Anak yatim piatu yg tau2 punya silsilah keluarga yg ajaib. Pake acara jadi pewaris negara segala. Hahahaha.

    Tapi judul buku lu ada ‘detective’nya tuh. Kyaknya menarik. Ah tiba2 jadi kangen sama detektif tiga sekawan alfred hitchcock, buku jadul jaman sekolah. Wakakakka

  2. Oh buku yg lo baca gitu ttg anak yatim piatu juga ya… hahah sebenernya ada beberapa jg sih buku yg gw tau kaya gini. Ya.. namanya juga buku anak-anak. Meski buat kita yg dewasa terkesan simple dan mengada-ngada (namanya juga fantasi) tapi buat mereka uda seru banget gitu jalan ceritanya.

    Iya, di Ferryport Landing, tempat makhluk2 Everafters menetap di jaman modern ini, terjadi kekacauan gara2 ulah Prince Charming yg serakah akan kekuasaan. Harusnya mereka uda hidup damai rukun.. nah si Granny Relda sebagai keturunan dari Grimm mencoba mencari tau ada misteri apa dibalik kekacauan itu, nah karena si Granny diculik raksasa, jadilah dua bersaudari itu mengemban misi utk menyelamatkan neneknya dan menyelesaikan misteri yg mereka sendiri masih bingung harus ngapain dan diapain. Hahhaha..

    Ya salah satu faktor yg bikin gw suka adalah adanya tokoh2 dongeng semasa kecil gw… hahaha, dan seperti yg gw blg sblmnya, gw waktu kecil bener2 berharap ada petualangan sprti ini dalam hidup gw *mimpi*

  3. Widiiiihh, theme baru lu mantabb mel!!

    Gw biasa bukanya di bebe, nih gw lagi mampir ke blog lu pake kompie.
    Pas dibuka, gw shock, kereen gilaaakk… Hahahaha
    Gambar lorongnya bagus tuh, jadi inget film2 drakula gitu deh. Dark dan Eksotis.

    Btw, kmren2 ini gw sempet riset ttg makhluk2 fantasy gitu di wikipedia, and kesebut judul Grimm Bersaudara. Ternyata terkenal juga novelnya ya. Gw juga lagi butuh banyak2 info ttg dunia fantasy nih. Lagi ada proyek penulisan fantasy lagi, mel. heheheh.

  4. Hahahha thanks thanks. Oh lo selama ini lewat BB doank toh, gw pikir dr PC.

    Wih nulis terus ya mengasah skill…

    Kl Grimm Brothers itu mah nulisnya dongeng klasik by… hehehheh

    Btw lo jadi nanowrimoan ga? Gw kayanya ga jadi ni *blushing* Harusnya gw taunya pas hari H aja ya, emg anget2 tai embek ni.

    Btw gmn proyek nulis bareng kita? Wakkakaka

  5. Oh, Grimm bersaudara sama Sister Grimm series beda ya?

    Nanowrimo sih gw masih nulis dikit-sikit. Terakhir baru dapet sekitar 1.800an. Masih jauh ke 50.000 wakakakaka. Tp liat aja nanti deh nih proyek bakal lanjut apa gak. Yang pasti sih gak bakal tembus sampe 50.000 kata.

    Soale akhir2 ini gw lagi ikut kontes nulis mel. Ada lomba cerpen di dearfrenz.com. Yang ini gw udah join, tinggal nunggu pengumuman. hehehehe. Trus skrg ini gw lagi ikutan grup penulis indie. Rencananya kita orang mau nerbitin buku gitu, dan genrenya fantasy. Gw sekarang lagi nulis naskahnya nih *big grin*. Tapi kabar selanjutnya nanti deh gw kasih tau, soalnya nih proyek masih berjalan. Mudah2an lancar ya, amin.

    Nah minggu2 depan mau ada kontes menulis lagi di Young Writer Club. Belom diselenggarain sih, cuma gw ud dapet bocoran dari kontributornya. Hahahaha. Nanti ikutan ya mel, cuma nulis cerpen doank kok.

    Kalo tulisan kolaborasi kita belom gw tengok lagi. Hahahaha. Nanti deh pas ada waktu luang. Sumpah baru kali ini hari-hari gw penuh dengan kegiatan menulis. Heheheheh.

Leave a Reply

