Heaven Can Wait

Re-posted from here

Book cover

Heaven Can Wait…. (but will he?)After having some breathtaking and jaw-dropping experiences with Katniss Everdeen in The Hunger Games Trilogy, I looked for a light-reading book to read. I had my eyes on Heaven Can Wait by Cally Taylor long time ago. And finally I have time to read and write a review about this book, which surprises me at the same time. I know.. I know… my writing below is too casual for a book review anywayWhat made me choose this book in the first place? Of course, the gorgeous cover and the unique storyline. Hahahha… yes, book cover matters a lot for me, though I know, the last books I read have utterly uninteresting covers, especially The Hunger Games. Catching Fire and Mockingjay do better. But if I have to be honest about the story itself, The Hunger Games would be the best of all.Back to the book I wanted to review a moment ago. Where was I? Oh yes, I was about to tell you about the main character in this book.
Basically, like what most chicklits would offer us to, the protagonist character is still an independent modern woman in their twenties, living in an urban area, with stiletto and stuffs, a fine job, also many things that we easily could relate to.Her name is Lucy Brown, aged 28, a graphic designer.Well, Lucy could have had the happiest time in her life. She is about to marry Dan, the man of her life and what a misfortune for her, she dies the day before the wedding and after having a little fight with Dan. How heart-wrenching is that? You’ve prepared everything for the day you’ve been waiting for. You have a little fight with your soon-to-be husband and a moment later you find out that you’re dead without having a chance to tell your lover that you feel sorry for arguing with him and love him so much. It’s the biggest sorry I could imagine.

So, after her death, she goes to limbo and meet a saint who later gives her two choices. The choices are going to heaven or going back to earth to meet Dan as a ghost. What will she choose? I know you wouldn’t have to guess it too long. I could tell the answer from the title. Heaven Can Wait…. But will he?
In order to become a ghost and reunite with Dan, she has to complete a task. Ugh.. I don’t bother to tell you what the task is. It’s quite difficult for me. Will she able to complete the task? Will Dan still madly in love with her when she returns? What would it be for Dan to know that his dead girlfriend has made a comeback from grave? You should read it by yourself. Less is more. The less you know, the more you enjoy. That’s my motto in reading books or watching movies.

As her debut novel, Cally is a quite good author. I love the wittiness in her writing. It entertained me a lot. I laughed so hard at the farting part. Lucy accidentally releases the “noisy” gas when she is with Dan and it happens in the early days of dating Dan. Lol! It reminds me of myself actually. *blushing* I can’t help myself for not farting at the wrong time or place.

So, if you’re looking for a lighthearted and humorous book, Heaven Can Wait is a nice read.

Some memorable scenes:

Do you skinny-dip, Lucy?” he asked, almost blinding me with his glow-in-the-dark-teeth.
If I was a cartoon character my eyebrows would have flown off my face and danced above my head.

P.S: Forget the genre, I couldn’t find a suitable genre for this book. Gah!!

My rating: 4/5

Leave a Reply

